Seasoned Attorneys Fighting For Your Right To Bear Arms
The United States Constitution provides that “…the right to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed.”
The criminal defense law firm of Hanlon Dunn Robertson has extensive experience advising New Jersey residents on all matters relating to federal and state gun laws and concealed weapon laws. Our attorneys provide aggressive criminal defense representation to clients arrested and facing gun charges, and we provide effective legal counsel in matters involving gun permitting and the confiscation of guns or other weapons.
Gun And Other Weapon Charges
A conviction for a gun or weapons offense in New Jersey can have serious ramifications. If you are convicted, you face mandatory jail time under the Graves Act. This law requires mandatory prison time for handgun possession offenders which means that you would be ineligible for parole until you have served at least three years or one-half to one-third of their sentence, whichever is greater.
Our experienced criminal defense lawyers and Board Certified* Criminal Trial Specialists have the skill and determination to provide the effective representation you need. We defend clients facing all types of weapons charges in New Jersey including:
- Unlawful possession of a concealed firearm, semi-automatic or assault firearm
- Unlawful possession of a firearm or possession of a weapon for an unlawful purpose
- Use of a weapon in the commission of a crime
- Convicted felon in possession of a firearm
- Juvenile in possession of a firearm
- Possessing an illegal weapon or ammunition
Penalties for conviction on charges of unlawful possession of a weapon may include incarceration from 18 months to 10 years in the New Jersey state prison system, depending on the degree of the weapons possession offense. Offenses of unlawful possession of a weapon range from second-degree to fourth-degree crimes.
New Jersey Gun Permits
New Jersey weapons laws require a lifetime Firearm Purchaser card in order to purchase and own rifles, shotguns, handguns, and ammunition. In addition, New Jersey law requires firearm owners to obtain a separate handgun permit from the local police department for each handgun owned and renew such permits after their expiration (90 days). Additionally, our state law restricts the purchase of handguns to one purchase for every 30 days. Our firm understands how grueling gun permit procedures can be in New Jersey. We can provide you with legal advice and efficient assistance through the permitting process.
Civil Weapons Forfeiture Laws
Certain felony criminal convictions and even some civil infractions can result in the confiscation of your firearms and revocation of your weapons licenses or permits. Weapons forfeiture can keep you from participating in your hobbies and from maintaining your collection. Even more serious, if you carry a gun or other weapon as part of your job, weapons forfeiture can cost you your career. Our criminal defense attorneys provide effective defense representation tailored to your situation – whether that means tirelessly defending you against felony criminal charges or aggressively representing you in a civil matter that could result in gun forfeiture.
Get Straightforward Advice From Hanlon Dunn Robertson
Call our firm at 973-756-2927 for a free initial consultation with an experienced criminal defense attorney or get in touch with us online.